Your source for sustainable fruit.

Votre source de fruits de culture durable

Follow us on instagram

+1-819-478-3784
info@equifruit.com

Bananas (Cavendish): Fairtrade, Organic

Equifruit has been importing certified fair trade and organic bananas since 2007 and …mmmmmmmm YUM, are they good! Organic bananas are a little sweeter and taste creamier than conventional bananas. And then there’s that indescribable taste of social justice which makes them all the sweeter.

For consumers, we’re available across Ontario and Quebec. In Quebec, you can find us in IGA & Sobeys, Rachelle Bery & Avril supermarkets, online at Lufa Farms as well as a bunch of other small natural food stores. In Ontario, find us at Longo’s, Farm Boy and independent stores like The Sweet Potato & Rowe Farms! Click here to see  a complete listing of where you can find our products!

For retailers, our bananas are sold by the case, through our network of distributors. Contact us to learn more!

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Presentation: 40lb (18.14kg) cases

PLU: 94237

Variety: Class 1 Cavendish

Product Name: Fresh Organic Bananas

Destination: Canada

Availability: Year Round

Organic Certification: Ecocert

Global Gap Control Union

Fairtrade Certification: FLO Cert

Equifruit FLO ID: 5157

Origin: Piura, Peru | El Guabo, Ecuador

Pallet Packing: 6 cases.row & 8 rows per pallet (48 cases)

Case/load 960 cases/load (20 pallets)

Packaging: Corrugated cardboard, polytube

Identification: Equifruit band around each bunch (including Fairtrade, PLU and Organic logo)

Temperature: 13.5 - 14.5 deg. Celsius

Banana Producers:

APPBOSA

Equifruit has been working with the Asociación de Pequeños Productores de Banano Organico de Saman y Anexos (APPBOSA)  since our beginnings in 2007. They are cooperative of 400 small producers farming collectively a mere 600 hectares of land in northwest Peru.

APPBOSA’s members gained their land through agrarian reform measures in the 1980s. They were growing cotton at the time, but there was only one customer: the former landowning family who still controlled all aspects of the commercial process. In the late 90s, some of these producers decided to convert their crops to bananas, as opportunities for Fairtrade production became available. APPBOSA was founded in January, 2003 with 108 small producer members, with the objective to export exclusively organic and Fairtrade-certified bananas. They achieved Fairtrade certification in May 2003 and Control Union organic certification, and haven’t looked back since.

Fairtrade has given some measure of independence to these marginalized producers, and the Fairtrade premium has had a significant impact on their working conditions and their communities. They have invested in such things as a cable system to facilitate the transportation of banana bunches to centralized packing houses, as well as numerous projects in local schools and health centres. More on this impact through stories on our blog!

ASOGUABO

In 2016, Equifruit started working with the El Guabo Association of Small Producers, a cooperative located in El Oro province in southwestern Ecuador. El Guabo’s members produce both conventional and organic Cavendish bananas and banana purée, all produced under Fairtrade conditions.

El Guabo was formed in 1998 with just 14 members and has since grown into a farmer-run cooperative working 1480 hectares of land by 320 small-scale producers and their 430 workers. Through the sale of Fairtrade-certified bananas in international markets, they have grown from marginalized growers into a self-run democratic organization. With the $1 USD/case social premium they receive through the Fairtrade pricing system, El Guabo is working in its local communities with programs in education, health care, senior citizens, environmental projects and infrastructure improvements.

Equifruit your source for sustainable fruit! | Votre source de fruits de culture durable

Follow me on instagram

+1-819-818-7784
info@equifruit.com

Bananes, Biologiques, Équitables

C’est depuis qu’Équifruit fait l’importation de la banane certifiée biologiques et équitable et… MIAM, que ça vaut la peine d’essayer!

La banane bio a un goût plus sucré plus crémeux que la banane conventionnelle. Pour les commerçants nos bananes s’achètent à la casse à travers notre réseau de distributeurs. Contactez-nous pour en savoir plus!

Pour les particuliers, au Québec, les bananes Equifruit se trouvent dans les supermarchés IGA, les Fermes Lufa, les magasins Rachelle Bery et Avril ainsi que de nombreuses fruiteries et petites épiceries de Gatineau jusqu’à Québec. En Ontario, c’est chez Longo’s, Farm Boy, et certains petits magasins comme The Sweet Potato et Rowe Farms – un peu partout! Cliquez ici pour voir une liste complète de l’endroit où vous pouvez trouver nos produits!

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

Product Name: Premium Fresh Organic Bananas

APPBOSA

Equifruit travaille avec  l’ Asociación de Pequeños Productores de Banano Organico de Saman y Anexos (APPBOSA), l’Association de petits producteurs de bananes biologiques de Saman et Anexos) depuis ses débuts en 2007. C’est une coopérative de 400 petits producteurs travaillant sur 600 hectares de terre dans le nord-ouest du Pérou.

Les membres d’Appbosa sont devenus propriétaires de leur terre à travers des réformes agricoles au Pérou dans les années 80. A l’époque, ils cultivaient le coton mais il n’y avait qu’un seul client : l’ancien propriétaire foncier qui contrôlait tous les aspects des processus commerciaux. Dans la fin des années 90, quelques-uns de ces producteurs-là ont décidé de convertir leur production à la banane bio, puisque des opportunités sur le marché équitable s’annonçaient. Appbosa fut donc fondée en janvier 2003 par 108 membres, avec l’objectif de vendre leur production exclusivement sur le marché de l’exportation à travers le système Fairtrade. Ils ont obtenu la certification Fairtrade en mai 2003 et la certification Control Union pour le bio, et ne font que grandir depuis.

Le commerce équitable a donné une certaine indépendance économique à ces producteurs marginalisés, et la prime sociale Fairtrade a eu un impact important sur leurs conditions de travail ainsi que dans leurs communautés. Ils ont investi dans un système de câblage pour alléger le transport des régimes de bananes jusqu’aux stations d’empaquetage centralisées, ainsi que dans plusieurs projets auprès des écoles et centres de santé. On en lira plus dans les semaines à venir à travers notre blogue !

ASOGUABO

En 2016, Equifruit a commencé à travailler avec l’Association des petits producteurs El Guabo, une coopérative qui se trouve dans la province d’El Oro au sud-ouest de l’Équateur. Les membres d’El Guabo produisent des bananes fraiches et bio, et conventionnelles, ainsi que de la purée de bananes, le tout sous les termes et conditions Fairtrade.

Fondée en 1998 avec à peine 14 membres, la coopérative El Guabo compte maintenant 320 petits producteurs qui travaillent, avec leurs 430 travailleurs sur presque 1500 hectares. Grâce à la vente de bananes Fairtrade sur les marchés internationaux, ils sont passés de producteurs marginalisés à une organisation démocratique autogérée. Grâce au 1 $US / caisse en prime sociale qu’ils reçoivent à travers les termes du système Fairtrade, El Guabo soutien ses communautés locales avec des programmes en matière d’éducation, de soins de santé, de retraite, des projets environnementaux et l’amélioration des infrastructures. Apprenez-en plus dans le premier billet de notre blogue « Le visage de votre fruit équitable ».