About Us

Equifruit is the Canadian market leader in Fairtrade-certified bananas. Established as “Equicosta” in 2006, company founders (and mother-daughter duo) Danielle & Julie Marchessault spent 18 months developing the Quebec market for Fairtrade-certified bananas before bringing in our first container of fruit in December 2007.

Since then, we have expanded to distribution in Ontario as well, and branched into other Fairtrade-certified, organic fruit such as grapefruit & avocados. We have wide distribution through Sobeys QC (for sale in the IGA and IGA Extra stores) and then sell in a large number of smaller grocery stores across central Canada.

Danielle retired in 2013 – and ownership passed to Jennie  Coleman, who combines 15 years of business experience with a passion for international development, grounded in two years of volunteer work in Namibia in the mid-90s.

We’re now a team of 4 passionate people, devoted to ethical business and fair fruit. We’re proudly Canadian: based in Drummondville QC but with representation in Montreal and Toronto.Team Day 2016_12 (1)

Whether you’re a business looking to carry Fairtrade fruit, an advocate working on Fairtrade education in your community or a consumer curious about the fruit you’re eating, we’d love to hear from you.

Au Plaisir!

cropped-equifruit-test-couleur-1.jpg

Á Propos

Equifruit est le chef de file des bananes équitables au Canada. Fondée sous le nom d’Equicosta en 2006, les deux fondatrices Danielle & Julie Marchessault (un duo mère-fille) passèrent 18 mois à développer le marché québécois pour les bananes biologiques, certifiées Fairtrade avant de faire rentrer leur premier conteneur en décembre 2007.

Depuis, nous avons élargi notre réseau de distribution jusqu’en Ontario et nous nous sommes lancés dans d’autres fruits bio-équitables, tels que les avocats et les pamplemousses. Nous avons une relation de grande distribution avec Sobeys QC (en vente sous les bannières IGA et IGA Extra) et on nous trouve également dans un grand nombre de plus petites épiceries à travers le centre du Canada.

Danielle s’est retirée en 2013, et l’entreprise fut alors acquise par Jennie Coleman, qui marie 15 ans d’expérience dans le milieu des affaires avec une passion pour la justice sociale, nouée à travers 2 ans de travail communautaire en Namibie durant les années 90.

Nous comptons maintenant 4 membres dans l’équipe : des femmes passionnées de fruit frais et d’un modèle d’affaires éthique. Nous sommes fièrement canadiennes : l’entreprise est basée à Drummondville mais nous sommes aussi présentes à Montréal et Toronto.

Que vous soyez un commerce qui souhaite vendre des fruits équitables, un militant faisant la sensibilisation du commerce équitable dans votre communauté ou bien un consommateur averti et curieux de la provenance du fruit dans son assiette, nous sommes là pour vous – et nous nous réjouissons de travailler avec vous.

Au Plaisir !

cropped-equifruit-test-couleur-1.jpg